Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Monday, 8 April 2013

2 New book reviews

Finally got around to posting two new reviews (family tragedy can rightly distract from work).

the two new book reviews are:

Britain's Hoverflies; An Introduction to the Hoverflies of Britain by Stuart Small & Roger Morris

"A great starting point that may well be a jumping off point for many, but for others covers just about the right amount of information."

An Introduction to Wedding Photography by Lorna Yabsley

"Read it!! Photographers will enjoy reading someone who writes with an obvious passion, aspiring wedding photographers will learn just how much they should be doing and brides will learn how much work is put in to their big day by others."

I hope you enjoy reading them.

Cover of Lrona Yabsleys book


Wednesday, 27 February 2013

New reviews

Off my job with back issues (standing up or more getting up and down and bending cause real pain, yesterday I could barely walk) so I have posted a couple (3) new reviews. Not books this time either which is nice.

Four Lastolite products reviewed:

Lastolite 10m Off Camera Cord
Lastolite Reversible Background
Lastolite Ezybox II Speedlite Bracket and Ezybox II Octa (medium)

Hope you like the reviews.

Image taken with the reviewed products (Pink background)

Monday, 28 January 2013

The Island of South Gorgia

I guess many of us will not have even heard of the island let alone know anything about it, well this visitor's guide should clear a lot up for you, loads of details about the island and it's wild inhabitants, as well as sections about the history and much more.

A Visitor's Guide to South Georgia - Review

"Don’t be fooled into thinking this is one of wildguides purely nature journals, no this book has a whole lot more. Yes there are some excellent pieces on the islands wildlife, but there are also brilliant sections on history, geology, research and much more."

Book cover

Saturday, 19 January 2013

another in the photo school series reviewed

We are currently reviewing the whole series of Photo School books by Michael Freeman, two read so far and both have been excellent, and really informative. This is review number two:

Michael Freeman's Photo School Light & Lighting - Review

"In the majority of the book the detail that Michael Freeman goes into on each subject is incredible, the lessons will teach you almost everything you need to know about lighting (I say almost everything, I found one omission, see bad points later on). Covering subjects from the fundamentals to daylight, artificial light to different lighting styles."
Cover view

Monday, 31 December 2012

More reviews

Following on from our Britain's Butterflies and Britain's Dragonflies we have another added to our growing collection, this time Britain's Sea Mammals (we have a few others on back order as well including one I am really looking forward to Britain's Hoverflies).

Britain's Sea Mammals - Review

As always I'd love to hear your thoughts, so please feel free to get in touch.

Cover view



Saturday, 29 December 2012

It's over

Well the Christmas period has come and gone (always a busy time) the New Year is fast approaching and I have finally done some work!

Our latest review is now up and running, and I have updated an old article (added a few images, altered the text and given it a make over to be more useful, I hope).


Cover Image


Love to hear your thoughts, as always, so please feel free to get in touch, share the articles and give us some New year cheer.

Wednesday, 19 December 2012

The Photographers Bible - reviewed

Yes yet another book review up before Christmas (hey Photographers love books and this is a great time of year to look at buying your photographer friend/family member one!). This book, The Photographers bible, is, as you would expect, one of the usual photography tutorial books (all be it with a little more info than many).

The Photography Bible - A Complete Guide for the 21st Century Photographer - Review

Take a look and let me know your thoughts.

Book cover.

Friday, 14 December 2012

A few new pages

Today has seen us launch a couple of new pages one in our reviews section and two in our how to shoot section.

Our latest review:

The Photoshop Elements 11 Book for Digital Photographers by Scott Kelby and Matt Kloskowski



And under our basics section of our how to shoot page:

Basics - Using a reflector
Basics - 5 in one reflector

I hope you enjoy them all.

Ashley Beolens

Wednesday, 5 December 2012

And another review

Completed another book review today this time it is Canon Rebel T4i/650D From Snapshots to great shots by Jeff Revell.

Quick on the heels of yesterday's review I know but fortunately I was reading both books along side one another (moving house meant one was packed so started the other then finished both at similar times).

Canon Rebel T4i/650D From Snapshots to great shots by Jeff Revell

If you are new to photography and have this camera, then get this book, if you are looking to improve your photography or don't own this camera then there may be better books for you to look at.

 

Tuesday, 4 December 2012

Shooting in Sh*tty light - a review

We have finished another new review (note to self write reviews quicker, I've had this book a while and read it a while back, I blame moving but no excuses really).

Shooting in Sh*tty Light by Lindsay Adler and Erik Valind



Well written, easy to follow, informative and full of great images this book is well worth investing your time and money in. I know I will be going back over it from time to time to see if I now put into practice the lessons learnt.

Front cover image.

Thursday, 25 October 2012

My new favourite portrait photographer

I have just finished reading (and looking at the brilliant photography included) Brian Smith's book: Secrets of Great Portrait Photography; Photographs of the Famous and Infamous.

What a great book, what a great photographer!!

Read my review here:

Secrets of Great Portrait Photography; Photographs of the Famous and Infamous - a Review


And please visit his website for more of his great work:

http://briansmith.com/

Ashley 

Tuesday, 9 October 2012

To follow the dragonflies

After our last review of Britain's dragonflies (see my last blog post), comes another photographic field guide review (let's face it as a wildlife enthusiast if I get the chance to review a really good field guide I'm not going to say no, and if, like these two, they are photographic than I can always make room for them on fatphotographer). This time it is

Britain's Butterflies by David Newland, Robert Still, David Tomlinson & Andy Swash


If you are in the market for a field guide to butterflies found in Britain and Ireland, then this is what you are looking for. Light weight, full of wonderful photographs and excellent identification points as well as other great features I would heartily recommend this book to you.

Anyway I hope you enjoy my review please let me know, I always like to hear from the readers of this blog or fatphotographer.

Ashley Beolens


Saturday, 6 October 2012

A different tack

We have just published our latest review, and it is a slightly different tack to the normal books we review, this time it is a photographic field guide to Britains Dragonfiles:

Britain’s Dragonflies by Dave Smallshire & Andy Swash - Review



It is full of fabulous photos and I thought with so many wildlife photographers out there they might appreciate the review as well, hope you all like it.

I love this book, it is a little gem that covers a passion of mine, and will make my life easier. The photographs are amazing, the species write ups are detailed and clear, and the key characteristics tables are great for identification purposes. As a field guide it is light enough to carry in my bag, and will be with me on many trips out and about from now on.

Friday, 21 September 2012

Latest book review

I have just completed and uploaded our latest book review and this is one for Nikon users! More specifically for Nikon D3200 users.

It is Rob Sylvans book - Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots (part of the excellent range of Snapshot to great shot range from Peachpit Press).

A really well written easy to read book, with some great tips and wonderful photos....

To read more please visit: Nikon D3200: From Snapshots to Great Shots - Review

I hope you enjoy it.


Ash

Cover Image

Saturday, 1 September 2012

Lightroom 4 book review

If you are a lightroom user, you may have heard of Martin Evenings book: The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 Book: The Complete Guide for Photographers if you are not a Lightroom user (I would recommend being one) then get Lightroom and theis book!

The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 Book: The Complete Guide for Photographers - Review

As you will see from my review if you have lightroom you will want, No NEED, this book!!

I cannot recomend it highly enough.

Sunday, 12 August 2012

Another review added to our collection.

I mentioned previously that we had a few books currently under review, well we have written our next review.

Landscape Photography: From Snapshots to Great Shots by Rob Sheppard - Review 

Anyone who has seen my Flickr stream will notice it lacks landscape photos, this isn’t because I don’t like the genre, it is just that I am poor at them, for some reason it is a subject I struggle to capture well. So when I saw Landscape Photography; From Snapshot to Great Shot by Rob Sheppard, I thought I would give it a read and see if it would help.

Well written, with great assignments and a cool Flickr group to boot, combined with lots of examples of great landscape photography and photographs with mistakes (a great learning tool) I think this book is a great read.

Visit the review page and read the full review. Oh and feel free to let me know your thoughts.